Ayurvedic Body Composition

According  to  Ayurveda,  Prakruti,  which  means  innate  character, physical  constitution  or  disposition  of  a person , plays  an  important role in comprehending  the physical  and  mental  characteristics.  With the changing  social  and  cultural  environment  our  behavioral  aspect  also gets  affected  but  the  most  important  fact  is  that  our  basic  constitution  remains  constant  throughout  our  lives , just  as  our  blood group  does  not  change  ever.  It  is  inculcated  in  the  basic  body constitution  and  character  of  an  individual.

According to Ayurveda, the human body is composed of derivatives of these five basic elements, in the form of doshas, tissues (dhatus) and waste products (malas).

The most fundamental and characteristic principle of Ayurveda is called “tridosha” or the Three Humours. Doshas are the physiological factors of the body. They are to be seen as all pervasive, subtle entities, and are categorized into vata, pitta and kapha.

Vata regulates movement and is represented by the nervous system.

Pitta is the principle of biotransformation and is the cause of all metabolic processes in the body.

Kapha is the principle of cohesion and functions through the body fluids.

Together, these three doshas determine the physiologic constitution of an individual.Health is described as a balance of all three doshas (bodily Humours).

The tissues are classified into seven categories: Rasa(plasma), Rakta (blood cells),Mansa ( muscular tissue), Meda (adipose tissue), Asthi (bony tissue), Majja (bone marrow) and the Shukra (reproductive tissue).


Three main waste products are Mutra (urine), Purish (faeces) and Sweda (sweat).

Prakriti [Body Constitution]

There are two types of Constitutions of our body

1) Deha Prakriti (Body Constitution)

Every individual has a unique combination of the three doshas- Vata, Pitta and Kapha. To understand individuality is the foundation of Diagnosis and Treatment in Ayurveda.

Humans are endowed at birth with one of seven different body types, depending on which dosha or combination of the three basic doshas dominate.

Body types can be dominated by a single humor (vata, pitta, or kapha), or they can be dominated by combinations: vata-kapha (when vata and kapha are present in almost equal amounts); vata-pitta; pitta-kapha; and vata-pitta-kapha (when all three doshas are present in almost equal amounts)

2) Mana Prakriti (Mental Constitution)

A person’s dosha type is expressed emotionally as well . Vedic philosophy classifies human temperaments into three basic qualities: satva, rajas and tamas.
Relative predominance of satva, rajas, or tamas is responsible for individual psychological constitution

Benefits Of Knowing Your Prakriti

Personal analysis of Prakriti helps you know about your body and its requirements

Knowing your Prakriti can help you maintain optimal health.

It will help you to maintain a good and balanced personal, family and professional life

Helps you to plan your lifestyle according to the requirements of your body

Prakriti analysis will help you plan a balanced diet


Author Name:

Dr Shalini Singh

About This Author

Post A Reply

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)